The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has launched a scheme to recognise internet service providers (ISPs) for their exceptional efforts in expanding fibre-to-the-home (FTTH) broadband connections in rural areas. The move is aimed at promoting digital inclusion and socio-economic development in rural India.

Under this scheme, DoT has decided to recognise nine ISPs, three each of category A, B and C, who have provided the maximum number of net additions in rural FTTH connections in a year. The recognition would include a certificate and the name of the ISP would be displayed on DoT’s website. The recognition will be given annually for the net additions from April to March each year as reported by ISP on the Saral Sanchar portal. The first recognition would be for the period April 1, 2023, to March 31, 2024. A committee has been constituted for recommending the said recognition on an annual basis.

The minimum net addition criteria for each category are:

  • Category A: ISPs in this category should achieve a minimum of 50,000 net additions in rural FTTH connections.
  • Category B: ISPs in this category are required to achieve a minimum of 10,000 net additions in rural FTTH connections.
  • Category C: ISPs in this category must achieve a minimum of 2,000 net additions in rural FTTH connections.

As per DoT, this initiative reflects the government’s commitment to enhancing digital access and connectivity in rural areas, ultimately driving socio-economic development and inclusive growth across the nation.