Vodafone Idea Limited (VIL) has adopted a cluster-based model and consolidated all its circles into 10 clusters nationwide to improve operational efficiency.

To this end, the telco has merged Delhi and Rajasthan circles into a single cluster. Further, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh form another cluster. Similarly, Uttar Pradesh (UP) East and UP West form a cluster. The other cluster comprises Assam and North East, Kolkata and rest of Bengal, Odisha, Bihar and Jharkhand. Moreover, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh are now one cluster; Kerala and Tamil Nadu form the other while Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh form another cluster. Mumbai and Gujarat are two standalone clusters while Maharashtra and Goa circles have been merged to form one cluster.

As per VIL, the 10 clusters have been created for improving business operations. The clusters will be headed by cluster business heads who will focus on revenue market share growth, customer market share maximisation, experience excellence across touch points, channel productivity and spend optimisation.


Picture credits : Bloomberg Quint