The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has released a list of registered telemarketers and their short message service (SMS) codes used for unsolicited commercial communication (UCC) to subscribers.

With the help of the available list, subscribers can directly raise grievances against telemarketers who harass them through SMSs and calls.

According to TRAI, Bharti Airtel/Bharti Hexacom, Reliance Jio, Vodafone Idea, Aircel/Dishnet Wireless, Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL), Mahanagar Nigam Telephone Limited (MTNL), Reliance Communication, Tata Teleservices/ Tata Teleservices (Maharashtra), Reliance Telecom, Quadrant Televentures and V-CON Mobile and Infra are the only services providers, or access providers, in the country that facilitate telemarketers.

TRAI’s telecom commercial communications customer preference regulations (TCCCPR), 2018, allow assigning alpha-numeric headers to telemarketers, business or legal entities for sending commercial communication using SMS. In this regard, TRAI noted that currently, these headers are also prefixed by two alpha characters separated by a hyphen from the header and it is used to identify originating access providers (OAP). Fixed length of six alpha-numeric characters are being used to assign headers and total nine characters including prefixes and separator are being used. However, regulations permit length to go up to 11. Headers are also known as sender ID.

In addition, the regulator has also released area-wise codes for 22 cities, regions and states in the country, including Delhi, Mumbai Uttar Pradesh (east and west), West Bengal, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, North-east, Tamil Nadu, among others.