Vodafone Idea, Bharti Airtel and Reliance Jio have paid the Department of Telecommunications (DoT) Rs 30.42 billion, Rs 19.5 billion and Rs 10.53 billion, respectively, for airwaves bought in the spectrum auctions of 2014.

The telecom operators have made this last tranche of payments towards deferred spectrum liabilities. Earlier in late 2019, the Union Cabinet had approved a two year’s moratorium on the payment of spectrum dues.

Deferred spectrum dues are instalment payment that are made by telecom companies for airwaves bought in past auctions and is separate from their AGR liabilities.