Kalyanaraman Rajaraman, Telecom Secretary, Department of Telecommunication

The Centre has appointed Kalyanaraman Rajaraman, a 1989-batch member of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) as the new telecom secretary.

Rajaraman is working as an additional secretary in the Department of Economic Affairs (DEA). He will take over the post of telecom secretary following the retirement of Anshu Prakash on September 30, 2021.

Cabinet has informed the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) of the appointment decision.
As part of his new role, Rajaraman will be responsible for ensuring that the reforms are implemented without any hindrance and with speed.

With key responsibilities in areas related to Investment Protection Treaties (NPT) negotiations, and overseeing the National Investment and Infrastructure Fund, Rajaraman was appointed in 2018 as an additional secretary (Investments) within the Department of Economic Affairs. In addition, he worked to promote economic relations with G20 and BRICS countries worldwide.

Commenting on the development, Lt. Gen. Dr. SP Kochhar, Director General, COAI, said, “We congratulate Shri K. Rajaraman on his appointment as Secretary, Department of Telecommunications, Ministry of Communications. Industry looks forward to working with him for the development and growth of the sector that is vital to the Government’s Digital India vision.
As the industry readies to usher 5G and catalyse the digital economy, the Government has announced path breaking telecom reforms. This is crucial support that was needed to build the right infrastructure and revolutionize the sector. We are in complete alignment with the Government’s initiatives which will put us on the right pathway for Digital India.
We are thankful to the outgoing Secretary, Shri Anshu Prakash for his remarkable leadership, exemplary commitment & appreciate the hard work done for the industry.”