Reliance Jio has announced the launch of its ‘True 5G’ services across 20 cities namely Bongaigaon, North Lakhimpur, Sivasagar, Tinsukia (Assam), Bhagalpur, Katihar (Bihar), Mormugao (Goa), Diu (Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu), Gandhidham (Gujarat), Bokaro Steel City, Deoghar, Hazaribag (Jharkhand), Raichur (Karnataka), Satna (Madhya Pradesh), Chandrapur, Ichalkaranji (Maharashtra), Thoubal (Manipur), Faizabad, Firozabad, Muzaffarnagar (Uttar Pradesh), taking the total count of cities enjoying Jio True 5G to 277.

Reliance Jio has become the first and the only operator to launch 5G services in majority of these cities. Jio users in these cities will be invited to the Jio Welcome Offer, to experience unlimited data at up to 1 Gbps speeds, at no additional cost.

Commenting on the occasion, Jio Spokesperson, said, “We are proud to rollout Jio True 5G services in these 20 cities across 11 states/UTs. With this launch, Jio users across 277 cities can enjoy the transformational benefits of Jio True 5G in the new year 2023.These newly launched True 5G cities are important tourism and commerce destinations as well as key education hubs of our country. With the launch of Jio’s True 5G services, consumers of the region will not just get the best telecommunication network but will also get infinite growth opportunities in the areas of e-governance, education, automation, artificial intelligence (AI), gaming, healthcare, agriculture, IT, and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). We are grateful to the state governments and administrators of Assam, Bihar, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur and Uttar Pradesh for their continuous support in our quest to digitise the region.”

Jio True 5G has a three-fold advantage that makes it the only True 5G network in India:

  • Stand-alone 5G architecture with Zero dependency on 4G network
  • The largest and best mix of 5G spectrum across 700 MHz, 3500 MHz, and 26 GHz bands
  • Advanced technology called carrier aggregation that seamlessly combines these 5G frequencies into a single robust “data highway”.

List of 20 cities:-

Assam:- Bongaigaon, North Lakhimpur, Sivasagar, Tinsukia

Bihar:- Bhagalpur, Katihar

Goa:- Mormugao

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu:- Diu

Gujarat:- Gandhidham

Jharkhand:- Bokaro Steel City, Deoghar, Hazaribag

Karnataka:- Raichur

Madhya Pradesh:- Satna

Maharashtra:- Chandrapur, Ichalkaranji

Manipur:- Thoubal

Uttar Pradesh:- Faizabad, Firozabad, Muzaffarnagar