The government will reportedly notify a negative list of countries to which data pertaining to Indian users cannot be transferred. The change is being mooted in the upcoming draft Digital Personal Data Protection Bill, 2022. 

According to Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, cross-border data flow will be enabled across all countries by default unless a nation is on the negative list. The government will have the right to restrict certain geographies and will devise the criteria for restriction. This will mean that the government will have a blacklist of countries to which cross-border data flow will be disallowed.