A seven-member Group of Ministers (GoM) has been constituted to supervise and expedite the implementation of the Rs 690 billion revival plan for Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) and Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL).

The GoM includes Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, IT and Telecom Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal and Oil Minister Dharmendra Pradhan.

The high-level group will also oversee crucial issues for the telcos including allocation of 4G spectrum and asset monetisation, business viability, workforce, issue of bonds.