The government has assigned Apurva Chandra, secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) to hold additional charge as secretary, Department of Telecommunications (DoT) as K Rajaraman relinquished his position.

According to the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), the competent authority has approved the assignment of additional charge of the post of secretary, DoT to Apurva Chandra (IAS), secretary, MIB, upon relinquishing the charge of the post of K. Rajaraman on July 31, 2023, and till the appointment of a regular incumbent or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Earlier, the government had appointed K Rajaraman as the next chairman of the International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA). He will be the chairman for a period of three years with effect from the date of assumption of charge of the post, or till attaining the age of 65.

Meanwhile, Chandra took over as the secretary in MIB in August 2021. He holds a bachelor’s degree in engineering and a master’s in structural engineering from IIT Delhi.