The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has formed an internal committee to restructure field units of licensed service areas (LSA) and wireless monitoring organisation (WMO). The committee so formed will examine organisational reforms and restructuring to enable DoT to become a more agile and effective organisation to deliver reforms already announced and under planning.

To this end, the group of five members, headed by additional secretary (Telecom) VL Kantha Rao, would submit a ‘comprehensive report’ within the next three months.

Further, the committee may also examine the set-up of DoT field units viz. LSA field units, CCA field units and WMO units in each of the LSAs and propose reforms to ensure full coordination. The panel is also empowered to co-opt additional members, if required and seek presentations from heads of various attached and field offices.

The move is aimed to identify Indian Telecommunications Service (ITS) officers of the department, and offer them responsibilities at state and local bodies levels to facilitate digital initiatives and telecom-backed services including broadband penetration for public utility and governmental organisations.

Earlier, in September 2021, the Centre brought in a slew of structural and procedural reforms that included an increase in spectrum tenure from 20 to 30 years, 100 per cent foreign direct investment (FDI) through automatic route, and rationalisation of bank guarantees (BG).