The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has moved the wireless licensing regime to the Saral Sanchar portal, with effect from August 1, 2020.

In its recent notification, DoT said that in view of the government policy on ease of doing business and making licensing process transparent, it has been decided that all licenses which are being issued by DoT, including various licenses issued by wireless planning and coordination (WPC) wing, shall be issued through the online system on Saral Sanchar portal.

Under the phase – I, the online licensing scheme would cover SACFA, fixed and mobile frequencies below and above 806 MHz, telecom network, mobile satellite service, terrestrial broadcast, and links for Internet service providers.

The other licence modules of the wireless division, according to the circular are under the developing stage and would be notified soon. However, the DoT has allowed offline applications until July 31, 2020, while the online mechanism would kick in from August 1, 2020.