The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has directed internet service providers (ISPs) and telcos to immediately block access to 59 Chinese apps including TikTok, SHAREit and WeChat. The names of the apps were issued in two lists.

To this end, DoT has asked the operators to submit compliance reports immediately, failing which action would be taken.

The government has said that the listed 59 apps have been banned to counter the threat they pose to the country’s sovereignty and security. The government also cited complaints about data on Indian users being transferred abroad without authorisation.

As per industry sources, DoT is expected to soon release a separate list of websites that could be barred in the future.