The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has sent an advisory to chief secretaries of all states, urging them to allow unopposed access to telecom sites without mandatory e-pass following lockdowns.

K Rajaraman, DoT secretary, has urged that the staff/personnel/field engineers of telecommunication service providers (TSPs), internet service providers (ISPs), internet protocol (IPs), their original equipment manufacturer (OEM) and optical fibre maintenance entities should be exempted from the e-pass process and movement should be allowed on production of valid company ID card under essential service category.

The move by the DoT comes in the backdrop of letters received from Digital Infrastructure Providers Association (DIPA) and the Cellular Operators Association of India (COAI) seeking urgent intervention from the DoT to ensure round-the-clock voice and data connectivity amidst Covid-19 surge.