The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has stated that commercial 5G services will be rolled out in 13 cities across the country, including the metropolises, in the year 2022. These cities include Delhi, Gurugram, Mumbai, Pune, Chennai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, and Jamnagar.

According to the DoT, telecom operators including Bharti Airtel, Reliance Jio and Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi) have established 5G trial sites in Gurugram, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Mumbai, Chandigarh, Delhi, Jamnagar, Ahmadabad, Chennai, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Pune and Gandhinagar.

Meanwhile, the three private telcos are carrying out 5G trials in the 700 MHz, 3.5 GHz and 26 GHz bands. The companies have also demonstrated India-specific use cases in fields of education, enterprises, mobility and security.